Card Night 21-Jan-2014

Lyndon called a game tonight which he named Happy Omaha Hi-Lo.  It plays like Omaha Hi-Lo, except that anytime between the end of the pre-flop betting and the end of the pre-turn betting, a player may buy an extra card for however much that player has contributed to the pot so far.  Before the turn is revealed, all players who have bought an extra card must discard one card.  The game then plays out just like regular Omaha Hi-Lo.

Sort of strange, but it played well.  Enough so that Jason and Glen both called it when it was their turn to deal.

Lyndon certainly liked Happy Omaha Hi-Lo as he ended up making a king-high straight flush during Jason’s deal to collect his biggest jackpot payout ever: $42.25.

Mark D +$116.00
Mary ‑$45.00
Lyndon ‑$1.00
Jason ‑$83.00
Glen +$47.00

Jackpot is now $12.00.

3 Comments

Filed under Card Night

3 responses to “Card Night 21-Jan-2014

  1. Miguel

    sorry, got a little confused. On Happy Omaha Hi-Lo, can I wait until others have bet (pre-turn) to buy my card? Also, it is to my advantage to see if others are buying cards before I buy mine, especially if I’m on the button. Not being there last night, I don’t know the mechanics of the buy, but it does sound interesting.

    • On Happy Omaha Hi-Lo, can I wait until others have bet (pre-turn) to buy my card?

      Yes.

      Also, it is to my advantage to see if others are buying cards before I buy mine, especially if I’m on the button.

      I don’t think so. Whether or not others have bought a card doesn’t really affect your decision. The best time to buy your card is when it’s the cheapest, so that would be after you’ve seen the flop but before you’ve put in any money on a flop bet.

  2. Miguel

    So I could theoretically see the flop (others may bet before me) and before I call the bet, I can get my *free* card. If I don’t see what I like, I immediately fold without putting any further money in the pot. Sounds like the best possible way to proceed unless you are under the gun, when you will always get a free card before checking.

Leave a comment